Otago 2019

Otago Golf Club
This year’s event attracted 101 brave souls on a sunny but cold day at the Otago Golf Club.
It’s very pleasing to see the renewed support of the event, with the most players attending we have had for a number of years.

This year’s result saw Richard Knight from Oamaru take out the Gross with a very respectable 77 on a windy day at the Balmacewan Course.
Best Nett went to Aotea’s Hayden Thompson with Nett 67 very impressive scoring by Hayden
The Best Stableford was taken out by Schneider’s David Nelson with 39 points with a look of surprise on the old boys face.
Second Gross went to Delta’s Phillip Luyten 79
Second Nett went to Delta’s Neil Seaton 70
And Second Stableford went to Allsop Electrical’s Mark Allsop on 37 points

This year we have seen the addition of an Ambrose section for those that don’t play much but still love a hit with their mates.
Winners this year out of 10 teams were the OPR lads of, Isaac, Steve and Richard followed closely by Team OEC Steve, Richard,

Great to see some new visitors and the old visitors supporting the event and industry also.
Ron Grant (Ardleigh) stole the show with a massive 46 points. Don’t know what course he was playing but fantastic result. A long-time supporter of this event Graham (Winky) Waugh (Port Chalmers) grabbed second with
The Non Golfers played off 18 for the day and Shane Hibbs took that out with 44 Stableford points.
Long drive was taken out by young Josh Reid from Southern Electrical on the last drive of the day knocking one 30 yards short of the 4th green.
Nearest pins went to Matt (Tiger) Smyth (Switched on Otago) on 7th, Craig West on 12th, and Paul Mulholland on 15th

A big thanks must go out to Richard and Evan from Hamer for the BBQ keeping everyone fed and their giveaway also.
Apologies and mentions must go out to Steve Pringle from Alexandra, he had to face the day playing with the Hutton Brothers, sorry about that Steve I hope you will come back. It really was great to have 3 brothers out there playing together and Tiger Woods for gracing us (Matt Smyth) great job dressing up.

A massive thanks to the hole sponsors Switchbuild, Vynco, Legrand, Telfer, Redpaths, Marley, Mardag, Tycab, Road Materials, Bremca, Strawberry Sound, Vision, PCBU, Site Setup, Maser, Prysmian, Globelink, Simx, Blacks Fasteners, Pedersen Read, Carrel-Electrade Ltd this year. Without their support it’s hard to run the event and also their sponsorship helps the Otago Team play in the National Electrical Trade Tournament in Auckland this year.
Thanks also to all the companies that supported the event with prizes

Thanks to Shelley, Judy, Michael and Jane at the Otago Golf Club, Lynne for the Buffet dinner, Dan and his team at the bar.

The Otago Team to play the National Trade is, Richard Knight, Guy Wilson, Alan Latimer, Phillip Luyten, Brian Ferguson, Michael Brandso, Steve Pringle and Trevor King.

Hole Sponsors
With particular mention to our National Sponsors – J.A Russell Ltd, Radcliffe Electrical, Schneider Electric, NHP, Master Electricians, Ideal Electrical, First Flex, Clevertronics.
Maser Communications, Switchbuild, Vynco, Vision, Globelink, Telfers, Marley, Legrand, Prysmian Cables & Systems, Carrel-Electrade Ltd, Strawberry Sound Vision Control, Simx, Pedersen Read Consulting Electrical Engineers, Blacks Fastners, PCBU Systems, Redpaths, Mardag, Tycab NZ, Road Materials Workgear, Bremca.
Prize Donations
Cableways, Cabac, Electrical Supply Corp, Firstflex Cables, Globelink, Hugo Lighting, Makita, Maser, Nexans, Switchbuild, Telfers, Black Fasteners, Mardag, Redpaths, Corys Electrical Suppliers, Ideal Electrical Suppliers, Radcliffes, Redpaths, Topmaq, Legrand, Tansley Electrical, South Cross Lighting 2017, OEC 2017, Aotea Electric.

See you all next year and good luck to our team at the Nationals

Mahal Pearce
Otago Event Organiser

Protected by CleanTalk Anti-Spam