2017 – Nelson Golf Club

51st National Championship Tournament Report – Nelson Golf Club – 5th – 7th November 2017
Yet another Electrical Trades National Golf Tournament has been competed for over the week of 5th, 6th and 7th of November.

It is with the utmost gratitude that we thank our Regional and National Sponsors for their continued support of our golf days, this support continues to allow us to bring the regions together to compete in this our annual National Championship.

The Greens Staff presented the course in excellent condition “worthy of a National Tournament”, “apart from a little too much wind that they had no control over”!!

Particular thanks to Club Manager James Cooper and the Nelson Golf Club members for giving up the use of the course for the three days of our tournament.

From the Pro Shop staff of Blair Riordan and Nick Loach, to the Bar and Catering Staff, Nikki and Luke McGuinniety and their helpers, all went beyond any expected requirements and made the event the success it proved to be in all areas.

Last year’s champions Tasman proved too good again winning their second Clipsal Cup for Teams Best Gross, although playing with home course advantage and a good knowledge of the prevailing winds, it was still an impressive effort winning by a clear forty nine shots from Wellington.

Tasman’s Brett Allan was unlucky not to repeat his singles win of last year, losing out to another previous winner in Southland’s Craig O’Rorke, having finished tied on a two day total of 150 they competed in a playoff down the 18th hole where Craig would emerge as our 2017 Trade Champion.

The 36 hole BJC Cup for Best 36 Hole Nett went to a new Auckland team member Mark Ross, with a 36 Hole Nett of three under par 139.

The 36 hole ECANZ Cup for best 36 Hole Stableford was won by Wellingtons “Serial Winner” Jamie Dempster on 75 points, the ETCO Cup for best 36 Hole Par went to South Canterbury’s Paul Clemens on +1

Auckland took out the Schneider/PDL Cup for Best Team Nett, Wellington the General Cables Cup for Best Team Stableford, Otago the Corys Cup for Best Team Par, and Wellington rounded out the top team awards also winning the Philips Cup for the second year running with a Best Stableford total of 200, this trophy is played for by a three man team of players whom have competed in five or more events.
“Tasman were one point back on 199”

A stand out mention of the week definitely would be Tasman’s Rowan Dron winning the Day Two Gross, in the process Rowan had to recover his clubs from the pond adjacent to the 10th green, he would go on to finish with a gross 79 off a ………… 17 handicap!! Hmmm!!

The unofficial interprovincial trophies were again well contested with the looking good but ultimately unsuccessful “Kornikova Trophy” being awarded to Canterbury, halting Auckland’s two year losing streak,

Middle Districts won the “Bone of Contention” from Hawkes Bay by the merest four Stableford points.

Canterbury attained a small vestige of glory taking the “Jim Beam” from Aorangi by two Stableford points

The Vynco Cup – Cook Strait Challenge would see Tasman beat out Wellington by the width of the Cook Strait in kilometres and miles added together (22 kilometres – 14 miles) Stableford Points.

Two new awards that were added to the festivities this year were tongue in cheek “Certificates of Attendance” awarded to Canterbury and Middle Districts.
“We should have printed an extra copy for the Kiwi’s Rugby League Team”!!

The tournament and prize giving was greatly enhanced by the attendance of a number of our major sponsors, particular thanks to Roger Spooner Managing Director of J.A. Russell Ltd, Stewarts and Radcliffe Electrical Supplies for his attendance and insightful words,

Roger presented life time memberships to ECANZ President and our retiring President Neville Simpson and long-time Executive member Mike Davies (left) for their services to our Golf Association.

Other notable representatives to present trophies to the victors were Peter Wilson Ideal Electricals Nelson Branch Manager, Andrew Nisbet Schneider Electrics South Island Sales Manager, and Philips Lighting Key Account Manager and Canterbury Captain Rhys Jamieson.

It certainly added some genuine value to our event to have these gentlemen take the time out of their busy schedules to attend our prize giving dinner.

The festivities of the week were well organised by Tasman with a return to the popular Melbourne Cup sweepstake pools, and the pairs sweepstake contest won by “Beer Syndicates” pairing of Mark Ross and Brett Allan, a point to second place winner “Peter Wilson” and pairing of Mark Boniface and Tom Irvine, with “The SCA Syndicate” and top weights Jamie Dempster and Chris Brooks a further point back in third.

“A huge thankyou to Bryce and the Tasman team members in providing us all with a very successful week of golf”.

Others to make particular mention to are, Mike Davies for the giving of his time to correlate all of the results, Gavin and Lisa Clarke for presenting the prize table and 2017 programme.

And so ends another Electrical Trades Nationals we now look forward to Auckland hosting the 52nd event on the week of 11th, 12th and 13th of November 2018 at the Pukekohe Golf Club.

Owing to a clash with the V8’s in Pukekohe and accommodation difficulties the tournament will be held on the weekend after Melbourne Cup week, however do not despair there will be festivities to rival the Melbourne Cup and more.

See you all next year have a fantastic Christmas and prosperous New Year.

From the Executive Team New Zealand Electrical Trades Golf Association.

Protected by CleanTalk Anti-Spam