Canterbury 2018

Electrical Trades Tournament – At Waitikiri the 70th – 28th August 2018
– A field of 94 players took to Waitikiri on a superb day sunny, clear and not a breath of wind.
– The course was in fantastic condition with fast & true greens (as is the way just before coring).

This year we tried a new approach to encourage more players to send an afternoon on the golf course. We played an Ambrose competition which proved to be very popular with many players & sponsors congratulating us on the new format.
We had 2 BBQ’s – Hamer on 10, Bremca on 3, & other sponsors had different novelties around the course – AAT had a chipping contest on hole 12, OneStaff sponsored NTP on 9 & also had a putting competition on the adjacent practice green, NTP on 3 was Norm Smith Memorial hole sponsored by AML Switchgear, SIMX had jelly shots on the 1st. Active Hornby sponsored the coffee cart before we started. A thank you all these companies and also to the many others who either took up hole sponsorship and or supplied prizes. Also thanks to the office staff at Fitzwilliam Electrical for the paperwork duties. As usual a strong prize table with more than enough prizes for everyone.
12.30 shot gun start away a little early as everybody had checked in (no no shows). The round was not as fast as anticipated still taking 41/2 hours. Soon had the results done as there were only 24 cards to process, no Gross, Nett, Par & stableford scores to sort out. Ready to go with prize giving in double quick time and all done and dusted by 7.00pm. A new competition for the warehouses this year was the Clevertronics Trophy kindly donated by Rhys Jamieson. A lot of banter signaled this was popular and hopefully we can improve on the 7 teams we had this year.
As we had no “normal” golf this year the team was selected on club form and this was not all that difficult as we only had 10 applicants for the 8 places and 1 of those was outside the handicap range.
The team is – Rhys Jamieson (Capt.), Angus Neaves, Jeramie Neaves, Grant Thompson, Marcel Bramao, Nige Starkie, James Anderson & Matt Evers Carmichael.
Results – because of the Ambrose format there were no individual results. Nearest the pin prizes were presented by the sponsors. The Clevertronics Trophy “In Photo Images” was won by the Active Hornby team lead by John Mclean.

Protected by CleanTalk Anti-Spam