Auckland 2024

Many thanks to the National Sponsors who could not make it on the day your contributions to the Regional and National Tournament are greatly appreciated.
Much appreciated the attendance of our National Sponsorship Manager Gavin Clarke from the Waikato Region and fellow Waikato Delegate Roy Hyland. 

Committee Member Jamie Dempster getting the field underway

What started a little overcast turned out to be a perfect day with a decent cloud cover to keep the heat out of the day, a little breezy making for some tricky decisions with the golf, however, this didn’t seem to affect the scoring for the elite golfers and teams.
Many thanks go to the Maungakiekie Golf Club members for allowing us to use their course for the afternoon, and particular thanks to the staff for their impeccable assistance in the preparation of the day, Ambrose and Medal play cards are a challenge to put together at any time credit to Joanne and Rebecca.
Big wraps to the Catering Staff for providing a quality meal enjoyed by all, the Bar Staff for their presence, and the cleaners who waited patiently for us all to depart at the end of the evening.

With a scheduled 12:30 pm shotgun start many of the players chose to arrive in good time to participate in the early festivities provided by the Schneider Electric Mobile Innovation Hub, presenting a large array of the latest in the Schneider range of products.
Many thanks to Schneider Electric with Sean Redmond and Stefan Kaldesic in attendance.

Pre-game start NHP Electrical Engineering Products generously donated the alcohol for the drinks cart,  ably managed by Gavin Ashwell and John Sinmaz.  
Many thanks to Mark Ross for arranging a generous sponsorship of soft drinks from Frucor for the course, this made it particularly easy for our sponsors not to have to organize that themselves.

A putting contest was held by Paul Doolan and his team from Zumbotel Group, along with a prize from a lucky draw of the players who managed to successfully hole out twice on the chosen hole, there were also giveaways to the nearly did it.
Schneider Electric provided a generous BBQ at the 17th Tee Kiosk, sausage and onion butties, cooked to perfection by Julieta, Ricky, Logan, Stacey, and Martyn, with plenty of fluid to wash them down with, from the drinks courtesy of NHP Engineering made this one of the on-course highlights.

Schneider Electric BBQ many thanks to Julieta, Ricky, Logan, Stacey, and Martyn

Theresa, Rebeca, and Kay brightened the day for all who visited the ATT display.

Adjacent to the Schneider Electric BBQ the always bright and cheerful ladies Rebecca Watts, Kay Gejima-Butler and newbie Willie Toelau from The Apprentice Training Trust, held a nearest-the-pin contest along with a spin-the-wheel lucky prize draw.
The prizes were very generous, and many thanks to ATT and all of the ATT Staff in attendance.
If you need an apprentice to fill that staffing void in your company and you want to foster the future for another Sparky in the trade, then ATT will have someone for you to consider, visit the ATT website to learn more.

On the 3rd Hole Clevertronics was represented by Laura Gold,  Country Manager Greg Johnson, and Grant Hendry complete with friendly banter and giveaways many thanks to Clevertronics and staff for their attendance.

Milan right presents most golf prize to Vineel

The nearest pin on the 18th hole for your third shot, the individual competitor, presented by Active Electrical went to Lou Hillier.

The nearest pin on the 13th for all players presented by simPRO went to Darren White, also simPRO Sales and Customer Success Director Milan Kumar presented the most golf prize to Vineel Kumar Operations Manager at ETEL, and no we believe Vineel is no relation and didn't play badly with prior knowledge 😊

Much appreciation to Julie Fraser for all her early communication and preparation for the day simPRO continues to be a valuable contributor to the trade with their business management software.
The Nearest pin on the 11th for all players presented by Simx Ltd went to Yainni Manolakakis.
The Nearest pin on the 1st Hole second shot for all players with Rick Budler Sales Representative in attendance from Task Lighting was won by Dave Clasby, it was great to have Rick and his many giveaways on the hole.

Rick Budler with Short Circuit team members on the 1st Tee

Long Drive on 18 prizes of quality Whiskey and hip flasks donated by Rick Budler Task Lighting, were presented to Clinton Bell for the Individual player Long Drive, and Jordan Swift won from the Ambrose section.

Computer Dynamics Auckland Office

Thank you to Computer Dynamics General Manager Mark Ho and National Sales Manager Fletcher Prendergast, for their generous contribution to the prize table,  it was also a pleasure to have Australian Group General Manager Trevor Bell fly in for the day to take part in the hospitality of the Auckland tournament “perhaps an Inter-Island challenge one day” 😊

Prize table contributions from Transnet NZ, ETEL Transformers, National Sponsors ABB Ltd, Ideal Electrical and First Flex Cables, Scott Electrical, Philps Lighting, M&D Snapes Limited, and Active Electrical, it was also great to see representatives from one of our National supporters in ETCO’s Greg Eeles and Mark Brooks.
Thanks to a generous donation from Eddi Xu from GLight NZ we were able to provide the after-golf meal, many thanks to Eddie and the crew from GLight.

Gross Winner Jeremy Williams receives his trophy from NZ President Jamie Dempster

Nett Winner Roy Hyland

Stableford Winner Simon Jamieson

For the tournament itself, the course proved to be the winner on the day, apart from the Ambrose teams who had the luxury of multiple attempts at tee shots and putting, the medal players on the whole played below their handicap expectation.
On a Par 69 course the Best Gross was won by Jeremy Williams with an exceptional 72 one shot above his handicap, with the next best Michael Leggoe on 75 then James McKim on 77.
Best Nett would go to one of our visitors for the day Waikato Association delegate Roy Hyland with a Nett score of 71, in a countback from Maungakiekie member Simon Jamieson also on 71.
Best Stableford was taken by Simon Jamieson after the close second placing in the Nett, followed by John Wharfe.
Division One Runner Up in the Gross was Michael Leggoe on 75
Division Two Runner-Up Gross John Wharfe 86
Division One Runner-Up Nett James McKim 72
Division Two Runner-Up Nett Peter McAnelly 73 on countback
Division One Stableford Runner-Up Jamies Dempster 33 points
Division Two Stableford Runner Up Jonathon Jones on 32 points. 
Other winners in the overall Stableford – Kevin Laycock, Brian Hemingway, Graeme Berge, Lou Hillier, David Oakley, Fletcher Prendergast, and Gavin Clarke.

Team Winners Circled Fours

In the Ambrose section, the results are nothing short of astounding, clearly for the future we need to provide a sterner test!!
The Circled Fours were legends, showing a professional class performance on the day with 10 birdies and an eagle on the 18th for a twelve under par 57 Nett 48.62 well done guys some startling golf to watch indeed.
Second, on countback with a Nett 52 were Ideal Penrose, followed by Corbans Collective 55.37, The Tank Engines 55.62, Watercare Two 55.87, Intellitubbies 56.87, Zumbotel 57.37, Still Out of Control 57.87 and Short Circuit rounding out the top 10 on 58.25.

 The Team to represent Auckland is provisionally Brian Cronin, Jamie Dempster, Brian Hemingway, Ken Tyree, Toby Snapes, Michael Leggoe, Jeremy Williams and James McKim.

Protected by CleanTalk Anti-Spam