Auckland 2017

 Pakuranga Golf Club –
Friday October 13th didn’t really inspire confidence of having a fine day weather wise when most of our previous events would suggest “wet weather again” however although the day dawned a little overcast it continued to improve throughout the day.
– 75 contestants turned out for our tournament along with three Ambrose teams from Callender Electrical, NHP, and J.A. Russell Ltd, this is a section of the day that we hope will grow in the future.

The course was presented in very good condition given the bad weather Auckland has had to endure over the past months, rain had made Pakuranga Golf Club almost unplayable so it was a welcomed sight to have the course in general dry underfoot and cart hire for those preferring not to walk.
For the most part the golf was suited to those “with a few shots up their sleeves handicap wise”, only one player in the top division 0 -10 playing better than handicap, eight in the second division doing so.
Regretfully the pace of the greens and some rather dubious pin positions accounting for numerous stories of three putts and worse!!
We would have preferred for friendlier greens however it may have been due to Pakuranga having club champs the following day and the speed of the greens required for that!!
We had great support from our Waikato branch with Gavin Clarke and Roy Hyland in attendance, neither able to make our team for Nelson  however if they had made it we would have been a little worried when competing against their home province!
Particular thanks to Gavin, Roy and his son’s for their support in the selling of our monster raffle tickets.
Ian Crichton took 1st prize and the First Flex surprize chilly bin.
Many thanks to our National Sponsors, Master Electricians, Schneider Electrical, Philips Lighting, Ideal Electrical Supplies, and J.A. Russell Ltd for their continued support of the Electrical Trades Golf and to our regional sponsors as follows:
NSG Lighting, NHP, Computer Dynamics, First Flex Cables, Transnet, K. Simpsons (East Tamaki), Hamer Electrical, Nexans Cables, Prysmian Cables, Legrand, PDC Power Solutions, Active Electrical, Frucor Suntory, & Rockwell Automation.
Another excellent prize table was able to be presented to our players courtesy of these sponsors, our winners as follows.
Trade Champion Glenn Harper – Gross 79
R/Up – James Hart 81 Gross on countback from Shiva Warjan
Best Nett Division 1 – Don Berry 73
R/Up – Brian Cronin 78
Best Stableford Division 1 – Ron Daley Jnr 35
R/Up – Neil Johnstone 30
Division Two Champion Tom Irvine – Gross 83
R/Up – Ian Vaeteru 83
Best Nett Division 2 – Mark Ross 67
R/Up – Michael Howard 68
Best Stableford Division 2 – Craig Turner 41
R/Up – Ian Crichton 40
Best golfer over 24 handicap – Leon Bolton Nett 72
Ambrose Team Winners – NHP
R/Up – Callender Electrical

Best Nine Hole Ambrose Winners – J.A. Russell
Nearest Pin 15th – Mark Campbell
Nearest Pin 6th – James Hart
Longest Drive – Rick Ewart
Two’s – Ron Kirkup

Many thanks to The Pakuranga Golf Club and staff, in particular Sam Abela and the pro shop for sorting our results for the day and the catering and bar staff for their services.
The greens staff under difficult circumstances presented a top class course, see you all next year.

The Committee 2017

Protected by CleanTalk Anti-Spam