Waikato/Bay of Plenty 2023

Waikato Bay Of Plenty Electrical Trades Regional Golf Day 2023
Our 2023 tourney finds us at a new course at the Omokoroa Golf Club for the first time.

As usual, the Bay of Plenty turned on another cracker day with beautiful sunshine to kick the day off.

It was unfortunate that we had to find a new venue as the tournament had been held at Omanu Golf Club since 2007 and we had some great memories there.

But the Omokoroa course was certainly in fabulous condition and a great host for all our players and sponsors.

Again this year the format was 4-person Team Ambrose with those wanting to qualify for the National Tournament playing 18-hole individual stroke play.

With 126 players originally entered we had to cut off the entries 3 weeks early for the first time ever.

 27 Ambrose Teams and 18 in the individuals trying to qualify for the National Team.

 Scoring was certainly not as not as last year but still some very good scores in the Ambrose.

Plenty of new players again this year with the Ambrose format becoming very popular.  

A great effort all around by the committee, the players and the generous sponsors on the day.
Sponsorship was again brilliant.
Without the Champion Companies listed below tournaments like this just couldn't happen.

Although I am the National Sponsorship Coordinator for the NZ Electrical Trades organization I'm continually surprised and at times overwhelmed with the generosity of these companies and the great support they give not only to the WBOP tourney but all the other 9 regions as well.
So I know it goes without saying, but please support these fantastic companies below whenever you can.

Again a special thank you to all the sponsors from the whole WBOP Committee.

You are all legends. Cheers

For those of you who attended the 2022 tourney at Ngaruawahia Golf Club, we had a tribute to our great mates Rexy and Stu who had passed away.

This year we have introduced new trophies in their honour and we also presented their families with framed blazers with their names, National team representative player numbers along with the years that they played at Nationals all embroidered on the fronts. Was certainly a little emotional, to say the least

Both have been on the WBOP committee for so long and our records back when they started probably weren't as detailed as they are today and no one could remember back that far with the general comment being "they have always been on the committee".

Stu was WBOP Representative Player #72 and had been to 5 National Tournaments.

Rexy was WBOP Representative Player #86 and had been to 10 National Tournaments which is our blazer game.

Rest in peace lads and enjoy the endless golfing and whiskey in the Sky. Cheers from us all.

Special thanks to......
First Flex, HPM LeGrand, JA Russells, Schneider Electric, ETCO, Simx, Electrical Supply Corp, Connect Security Products, Pierlite,  Pure Lighting, ABB, Maser, CDB Group, DHM Technologies, Master Electricians, ATT Apprentice Training Trust, Direct Group Uniforms, Clevertronics, Philips, Ideal Electrical, simPRO, Volle Golf, RWK Holesaws, Vynco, Northpower, Nexans.

Super Extra Special thanks to....
Bianca from Legrand for taking all the on-course photos and also agreeing to be the photographer at the National Tournament in Whakatane in November.
Champion thanks Bianca.

A Big thanks to....
Julian Snijiman from Ideal Electrical for not only supplying the BBQ Trailer but also cooking up a storm of hotdogs on the 10th hole.

Nick McColl and the JA Russell team for the BBQ at the 1st hole.
Great work team.

Extra Special thanks to.....

The team at ATT Apprenticeship Training Trust for the marshmallow driving contest on the 10th hole. A great laugh and great fun was had by all.
45 metres was the longest and certainly a few very smashed-up marshmallows by the end of the day.
Dave and the team from Waikato Bay of Plenty Master Electricians for quenching the thirst of the players at the 9th hole.

Prize Winners.
There were 15 team prizes in the Ambrose and below are the top 5 teams.

The winning team in the Ambrose was Two and a Half Men from Tauranga with a Nett Score of 53.625. The tournament handicapper will be on the lookout for them next year lol.

The WBOP Electrical Trades Ambrose Cup.
Jono Preston, Brad Fox, Michael Bell, Hayden Barnstall.
2nd: JA Russell Taupo. Nett 55.625
Dan McGregor, Bevan Martin, Mike Parker, Jeremy Skeen.
3rd: G Lovers. Nett 56.75.
Justin Gellatly, Neil Kerr, Sean Keenan, Jono Vellekoop.
4th: JA Russell Hamilton 1. Nett 58.00.
Matt Hunt, Nathan Edwards, Aaron Katipo, Scott Stapleton.
5th: Hole Stuffers. Nett 58.125
Carl Forbes, William Newman, Stanley Urlich, Todd Canning.
Individual Stoke Play Winners.
1st: Jamie Dempster 80. The WBOP Electrical Trades Gross Cup.
2nd: Lance Staiger 81.
3rd: Bevan Bettridge 84.
1st: Craig Sproull 71. The Stewart Browne Memorial Cup.
2nd: Roy Hyland 74.
3rd: Allan Williams 75.

1st: Andrew Dykstra 38. The Rex McIntosh Memorial Cup.
2nd: Ian Court 34.
3rd: Janey Boreham 33.
Nearest the Pin.
4th Hole. Rob Ormsby.
6th Hole. Craig Sproull.
11th Hole. Paul Wilson. Hole in One.
17th Hole. Paul Wilson.

The Team to represent the WBOP Region at the National Team is......
Gavin Clarke, Roy Hyland, Bevan Bettridge, Ian Court, Dave Edmondson, Greg Colville, Craig Sproull and Janey Boreham.

In a first for the WBOP Team, we had our first female player, Janey Boreham from JA Russells Tokoroa Branch qualify for the National Team. Janey is also the first female to play in the National Tournament in the whole 55-year playing history of our event.

Big ups to Janey being the only female player, but she certainly fitted in well and it was fabulous having her as part of the team.

And that's a rap.

See you at the 2024 WBOP tournament at the Ngaruawahia Golf Club.


The WBOP Committee

Gavin Clarke, Marty Forsman, Roy Hyland, Nick McColl, Julian Snijiman, Mike Cannell.

Protected by CleanTalk Anti-Spam